3.2/10

    From 139 passenger reviews

    Daniel

    from AirAsia X review by Daniel - April 23, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Check-in Process

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    A customer relations disaster that has still not been resolved in 2 months. Horrible first point of contact in KLIA2. She refused to give her name when asked because she knew how poorly she handled the situation. Still have yet to actually contact someone who can do more than tell me that they are “working on it” and I should continue to “wait”.

    Stuart

    from Australia - December 31, 2018

    Flew Business Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    AirAsia – premium flatbed – 20/11/2018 D7237 PER > KUL, AK886 KUL > DMK. Having flown with this mob for the last 10 years I know what to expect, they are a LCC, it’s why I always fly premium (their version of business ‘J’ class), it’s perfectly reasonable to expect a better service than cattle class but it’s basically for the angle flat seat so at least I’m not crammed in like a sardine, and sometimes I can even get 40 winks. They say any premium seat bookings are fully flexible, change without extra charge, but that’s bollocks as inevitably there isn’t any seats at the price originally paid, so there’s always extra to pay. Over the years they have probably screwed me over an extra $2K with these fees.! Just this one alone cost me an extra $890. Other issues have also occurred over the years too, like lost and/or damaged baggage and other smaller issues like advertising priority check-in at certain airports when none exists and damaged/broken locks, no hot water in the toilets/showers at their lounge. But this most recent trip would have to have been the worst I have ever experienced, with any airline. Normally I would fly PER > KUL > CNX, but for some reason they had no flights to Chiang Mai in November so I had no choice but to book another flight DMK > CNX, but within Thailand I prefer to use Nok air rather than Thai Airasia. So I allowed 4 hours 30 minutes between flights, more than enough time for clearing immigration and check in, even if there were flight delays. So only 1 hour and 10 minutes before AK886 was due to depart I get an SMS (and email) informing me it’s been delayed by 3 hours. As check in for Nok air closes 45 minutes before departure, 45 minutes to clear immigration, collect luggage and go from T1 to T2 for check in at DMK, just not enough time. But as a precaution (remember I know what this mob are like) so 2 months earlier I decide to book a cheap seat on FD3429 DMK > CNX as, shall we say ‘insurance’ incase they stuff up, then at least I have a seat to CNX, but I didn’t bother putting any luggage on it. If you have been to KLIA2 you will know it’s one of the worst terminals at any airport and of course D7237 parked at the last airbridge at the end of the satellite terminal, felt like 1k to the transit area. So I get this SMS and go to the transfer counter, but no they can’t help there, they direct me to another counter, but it’s in the main building, over the skybridge. There I encounter the rudest, most belligerent customer agent ever, not only could I not get a word in edgewise, it would be reasonable to think that as they have stuffed me around, guaranteeing I will miss my Nok air flight and as I had booked a precautionary Thai airasia flight they would at least add the luggage for free, but no, there was no way she was going to do that. Not only have they caused me to lose the entire Nok air flight, they want to add insult to injury and charge me for the bags. And this is the way they treat a premium customer, god help those poor souls in cattle class.! Finally AK886 leaves 3 hours and 27 minutes late, not happy Jan….. What if I hadn’t booked FD3429, what would they have done, nothing, left me stranded at DMK on the second busiest day on the Thai calendar, it was Loi Krathung festival, all flights would have been fully booked. Just not good enough, if I could give them 0 stars I would. Honesty and integrity is in short supply with this airline, if you can use another, give this mob a miss. Thai Lion have a nice new A330 with the exact same seats but they are only using it on the DMK > HKT (Phuket) run, the sooner they realise it could be more profitable using it on long haul to PER the sooner I will use them as I am so much over these idiots.

    Kay

    from Malaysia - November 23, 2018

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    We bought return tickets in early March 2018, flying from Kuala Lumpur to Osaka in end October 2018. There were 2 cancellations made by AirAsia without notice or whatsoever. Both had no notice or email given until we noticed the changes ourselves when we were on the website. The 1st cancellation was made somewhere in June to early July, original flight to Osaka canceled and they moved it to 2 days later than the original. We filed complaints through email and Twitter, and expressed our dissatisfaction on the cancellation and changes without notice immediately, and request for flight change as the date is not preferable. Entitled for free reschedule, we moved the date to early November. The 2nd cancellation was made soon after the reschedule done in early July till early August, same scenario as previous, no notification! We noticed the changes ourselves in the website, filed another complaint through Twitter, and the only thing we can do is either get a refund or free reschedule. Nothing else. Noticed there were complaints about the delays and difficulties in getting the refund from AirAsia, we decided to make another flight reschedule to late November. Our departure flight now is 1.55am on 24 November (tomorrow). And this early morning (today) we received an email informing us that there will be a delay in our flight for 2 hours. We are now so frustrating and yet worried there will be another delay in the flight later. Another note, the response from AirAsia’s customer care or support team is very disappointing. The response received from Twitter somewhat acceptable, which they took about 5 hours to 1 day to reply, but as long as you have decided the date to reschedule to, they somehow managed to get it done quickly. However, there was no response from our email complaints about the first cancellation that we made in mid-July, until end-August where we have already made our second reschedule (in mid-August) after the second cancellation without notice. And the email was only reflecting the first cancellation and first reschedule that we made in July. Soon after the email, Cancellation Notice was sent to my inbox to notify the first cancellation, after 2 months, and it wasn’t even valid at that time anymore.

    Andrew

    from - April 26, 2018

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    I just returned from Osaka to Honolulu with Air Asia X and have to let everyone know about their shady practices which border on being an outright scam. I booked the flight because of the low cost so I understood that it would be a no thrills flight. We had to pay for water on board, which was fairly lame but I did not mind too much, until the flight attended was completely rude to us and demanded the two dollars before he went and got our water, as if I would stiff him once the water was delivered. This however was minimal compared to the issue to come. My ire developed when checking in to the return flight from Osaka. I had tried to purchase all add ons in advance, food, checked bag fees and the like. Bag fees when booking online was 30 dollars a piece. I paid for 2 checked bags. We ended up taking an extra bag, and on the return flight they instructed us that we had to pay the “counter fee for checked bags” which was $123 dollars a piece!! $246 dollars extra to check 2 small bags!! This is tantamount to extortion as they know we have no choice but to pay the inflate charge because we are obviously going to take the flight and need our bags. This is a scam and the worst business practice I have encountered in my life of flying. They obviously know they are doing something wrong because, this happens often. Around us as we were checking in , no less than 10 other passengers were irate due to the same situation. After all of their fees, I ended up spending as much as I would have on a regular carrier with better service. I will never fly with them again and I do not recommend anyone else flying with them either.

    Caroline

    from Australia - December 31, 2017

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    3/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    I tried and tried and spent hours of my precocious trying to make contact and NO ONE replied! Hopeless!

    View all Reviews

    SHARE