3.4/10

    From 40 passenger reviews

    Wolfgang

    from Canada - July 18, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Baggage Handling

    • Check-in Process

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    On May 26 my wife and I were booked on Transat from Porto to Vancouver. As usual I wanted to check in 24 hrs prior to departure but the system (I used all of of your web sites and also 2 different browsers in case of cookie problems) did not accept my attempt telling me I should call a number which I could not reach from Portugal with a Portuguese SIM card. After 2 hours of attempting to make either approach work I finally called a Montreal Number (514-906-5111). The agent told me that we can only check in 24 hours prior to departure of our CONNECTING flight from Montreal – very unusual nonsense. Nothing worked

    We wanted to check 1 bag which cost us the outrageous amount of 120 Euros (instead of the reduced fee if we could have done it via internet check-in).

    Transat never replied to my complaint.

    jim

    from Canada - May 24, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Baggage Handling

    • Check-in Process

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    Booked October 2018 for flight in May 2019 from Calgary to Glasgow. Airline wanted extra fees to sit with my wife and additional fees for baggage. Online app was not functional and Baggage Fees icon did not work so we paid an additional $280 CDN for our bags (Calgary to Toronto, Toronto to Glasgow, and return). Attendant at airport in Calgary told us to go online when returning and save 20% on baggage fees but our confirmation # didn’t work and we were unable to access online. Again, 7 months booking flight and they wanted extra fees for us to sit together on a flight with numerous empty seats……….a definite “cash grab”. Food was inedible………worst I’ve ever seen. Return flight ordered Pasta which was burnt (I mean absolutely black!) and was told no replacement available. Watched seat in front of me with “upgraded” service offered a small bag of chips or a chocolate bar……..ha!
    So, original fee increased 25% so absolutely not worth the effort. Plane from Glasgow to Toronto……left side audio did not work and plane was from Wright Brother’s hangar………..no leg room so must have been when people were shorter (1800’s) due to malnutrition. Seriously uncomfortable.

    Linda

    from Canada - March 5, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    9/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Baggage Handling

    • Check-in Process

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      Yes

    I am so surprised to read some of the reviews here about how poor AirTransat service is. My husband and I have flown Air Transat to Spain in 2009, Amsterdam and France in 2010, Italy in 2014, Ireland in 2016, Czech Republic in 2017 and my upcoming trip to Slovenia and Croatia this May. We have had no problems whatsoever with AirTransat. We always pay extra for the Options Plus package which we feel is well worth the extra few dollars. If people want all the extras and/or luxury travel then maybe they should book on a different Airline. We like this Airline for the price and especially for their non-stop flights. We’re definitely looking forward to our upcoming trip in May flying on AirTransat!

    Cyril

    from Canada - February 25, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Check-in Process

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    I had an emergency and had to go back to my destination as soon as I could. They asked me 350$ to modify a 75$ flight ticket. No decency.

    Antonette

    from Canada - January 18, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    My husband and I were in Lisbon, Portugal this past summer to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Our departure time was 9am on August 3rd and we were up early that morning with plans to arrive at the airport for 7am. My husband had downloaded the Air Transat app on his cell phone to get updates on our flight status and sure enough when we woke up on the date of our departure, there was a notification that our flight was delayed until 11am. This notification with the beginning of our nightmare. Instead of arriving at the airport for 7am, we arrived at 9am – still 2 hours before the scheduled departure time of our flight. We returned our rental car and proceeded to find the Air Transat check-in counter, but we couldn’t find it. The digital flight status board indicated that the counter was closed. We asked multiple airport staff where it was, and they kept directing us to the same counter, where another airline was now operating their check-in. We were advised to continue to monitor the digital board for updates. My husband and I stood and watched the board and the Air Transat app. There was no change to the check-in counter status – it was still closed, and the app still said the flight was at 11am. The clock was ticking and we were getting more and more nervous. We started to run around again looking for assistance. This time we were advised to go to the Swiss Port counter. When we got there, the Swissport counter appeared to be closed for renovation, it was boarded-up and no lights were on. There was no one there. We looked for more assistance and were repeatedly told to go to the Swissport desk. Finally an airport staff escorted us to this desk to confirm that it was in fact closed. My husband and I were desperate at this point. We were at the airport, the airplane was at the airport, but there was no Air Transat check-in counter 2 hours before departure, and no representation at the airport to assist us. We ultimately missed our flight, and had to find other flight home. Since this time, I have received confirmation from Swissport that their staff were elsewhere in the airport and not at their desk; and also have photos of the closed Swissport desk. I have confirmed with the other airline operating their check-in counter where Air Transat was supposed to be, that they were there at 9am. Air Transat was not. I have provided all this information to Air Transat. However, they maintain that we were late, and refuse to compensate us. I also filed a complaint with the Canada Transportation Agency and requested mediation assistance for this issue with Air Transat. Mediation is a voluntary process and Air Transat refused to participate. Disgusting! Something went horribly wrong that day that caused us to miss our flight, and Air Transat does not care. https://www.tripadvisor.ca/ShowUserReviews-g1-d8729014-r640348910-Air_Transat-World.html#

    View all Reviews

    SHARE