7.5/10

    From 173 passenger reviews

    Rudi

    from Belgium - April 25, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Baggage Handling

    • Check-in Process

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    delays, delays delays!!! on ALL 4 Flights, no effort to catch up during flight. Horrible food and limited choice drinks. Never again. Flight attendants were very friendly though.

    Arvind

    from United States - January 22, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    9/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      Yes

    I have been using Qatar Airways for the past 4 years to fly between Dallas and Ahmedabad. Taken 8 rounds trips so far. I had no poor experience yet. They are always on time for me and booking in two months advance found to get an extremely competitive fare. Good inflight service as well as check-in counter. They have good inflight entertainment covering global choices including Bollywood and Hollywood movies and music. Since I have a AA platinum status I get to use their business lounge in Doha. It is very well furnished including hot shower.

    Deborah

    from Australia - January 18, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    10/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      Yes

    I flew economy Melb to Doha, Doha to Vienna then Heathrow to Doha then to Sydney in April 2018. I highly recommend this carrier. It was my first long haul flight and I wasn’t sure what to expect but I am the queen of domestic flights. I was dreading these flights thinking that it would be a similar experience but I was wrong. I enjoyed all four trips! The staff were fabulous and couldn’t help me enough. They were polite even though I pestered them a little due to lack of knowledge. I had plenty of seat room, the food was good, the entertainment was really good – plenty to watch and play, and I was comfortable the whole trip. None of the trips were heavily booked so I had at least a single seat free next to me on each trip. I enjoyed it so much that I have booked four more trips this coming April. The trip from Doha to Austria was in an older plane and I admit i was concerned about that but again, the food, the service, comfort was all as it was in the 380 i travelled on the previous flight. After speaking with many people who favoured other airlines, one in particular, I think I fared better than they did.

    YJ

    from Ireland - January 12, 2019

    Flew Business Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    As a Oneworld frequent flyer, I have traveled quite a lot in the past and this is the first complain I have ever made. Although it has been a year since the incidence happened, I still feel like I was much mistreated by this company and people should know what happened. How could a company treat their customers so poorly…? I booked a flight from their official website to fly to Dublin from Taipei. The first leg was from TPE to BKK. This flight left late due to some internal issues, which was the first of many problems in this fiasco. The plane arrived with barely enough time for me to make the connecting flight to DOH. As I approached the gate, out of breath from running, one of their ground staff denied me from boarding for the reason not having sufficient document for traveling, which was not true at all. I patiently told her that I had all the necessary documents required by Irish immigration office for my study, including an original Letter of Acceptance from my school, proof that school fees have been paid and evidence of finance. Here’s the thing, because Taiwanese passport holders do not need a visa to travel to Ireland for 90 days, the Irish government has this rule that we only need to carry the document mentioned above to enter the country and then will be able to retain the student visa stamp after arrival. The ground staff in BKK really gave me the impression that she doesn’t care a word I said and refused to wait for me to make any calls to embassy to seek proofs. She literally asked me to go home and give up since she did not care whatever said on the website of Irish Naturalization and Immigration Department when I showed it to them. I could not believe how poorly Qatar Airways dealt things like this way, and the staffs were unbelievably arrogant. With no instructions of where to go to get further information, they just told me the next flight is 21 hours later, so I could either fly back home or buy myself another return ticket. I had no choice reluctantly paying 60USD on arrival visa in Thailand to get out and try to find a gate agent, but nobody was anywhere to be found. There wasn’t anyone at the gate, and no employees were found at the ticketing office either. When I finally was able to find a Qatar employee after over 12 hours, who explained that she had no authority to decide anything for me and asked me to wait for another 5 hours until other staffs are on duty. And of course, no solutions from anyone after 5 hours. This experience has caused me to feel like their policy is simply to “pass the buck” onto someone else time and time again until there isn’t anyone at the end of the line. The customer service number would easily result in another two-hour wait on hold, so reluctantly I spent 250USD on the next flight and 500USD on a return ticket I didn’t even need since I would not finish my school in only 90 days. When I arrived in Dublin, the immigration officers did not even ask for any return tickets, and instead, after reviewing all the documents which I also showed their staffs previously, they placed me a stamp and I was good to go. With all the delays included, I finally arrived at my destination over 30 hours later than anticipated. I had spent over €2,000 in additional costs, not mentioning that they lost my luggage when I arrived in Dublin. It was a series of problems, one on top of another. Not just a single failure to perform, which I definitely be understood. After months and months of trying to contact their customer service, they only refunded me the NO SHOW fee of the flight they denied me from boarding! Unbelievable.

    Qiao

    from China - December 17, 2018

    Flew Business Class

    Overall Score

    2/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    On 14 and 16 December 2018, Qatar Airways (QR) acted in breach of its representations and failed to deliver the product purchased by its consumer. I just completed business class flights QR817 and QR816 between Hong Kong and Doha. I booked Qsuite for both flights. My booking was confirmed by QR’s ticketing office and QR’s online seating plan gave the same indication. However, I eventually was “downgraded” and got a normal business class seat without adequate prior notice. QR claims to have the world’s best business class but my experience does not support that claim. The company engages in a practice of changing planes at last minute. It takes consumers’ money and delivers an inferior product. This happened to me on repeated occasions on 14 and 16 December 2018. I paid around US$5,300 to book Qsuite for both flights but got a 2-2-2 configuration business class seat with less privacy, less space and different seat structure. On both instances, QR unilaterally changed the plane without adequate prior notice. On 14 Dec, I was informed of the plane change at the check-in counter with no apologies. On 16 Dec, I only found out when I boarded the plane. As a result, the menu was inaccurate and some food items on the menu were not available. There were complaints from numerous passengers in the cabin. This practice of switching products at last minute is highly inappropriate, unprofessional and not acceptable. If QR had to change planes, they should have changed to a plane with seats that are identical to the one being replaced (i.e. Qsuite to Qsuite). Advertising a particular type of seat to the public, taking customers’ money and then failing to deliver what was on offer without adequate notice seriously violate customers’ rights and interests. This should not be the experience from an airline that received the 2018 Skytrax Award for the World’s Best Business Class. I did not get the “best business class” experience on both flights. The money I spent should not be subject to the airline’s sole discretion to change products. Consumers should be given proper notice of any such change and been given an opportunity to decide whether to proceed with the flight. QR’s behavior leaves passengers with no choice but to board the plane they allocate at last minute. This is outrageous and appalling. I have not experienced this with any other airlines. While my intended first Qsuite experience, together with my money, was taken away by QR, I think readers of this post and any future passengers of QR should be aware of these incidents and QR’s repeated failure to deliver the products it offered through its website and staff. The simple rule is that consumers should get the product they paid for. If QR is not able to recognise and follow this basic rule, consumers should be aware of that and make an informed choice as to whether to take the airline again.

    View all Reviews

    SHARE