2.9/10

    From 21 passenger reviews

    Lorenzo

    from United Kingdom - May 20, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Baggage Handling

    • Check-in Process

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    Flybe reduced the hand luggage size before the flight without any proper notice, provided their staff with luggage measurement units which were even smaller than the new sizing, and forced every single person with a hand luggage on the flight, no matter the size (about 50 people at least) to dish out £50 to board the plane. Not only this is against consumer rights, but it also goes against antitrust laws as the true hidden cost of the flight was forcefully push to nearly double what the ticket at the time of purchase cost, hence exerting unfair competition against competitor airlines in the and route.
    Furthermore the staff at the gate refused to provide passenger with a legal receipt showing the item of purchase for the £50 charge.
    An utterly despicable airline with zero ethics: avoid at all cost!

    Paul

    from United Kingdom - April 14, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Check-in Process

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    From Heathrow to Newquay, at over £300, ticket confirmation from eSky showed Mrs Paul [ our surname] and it also showed her birthday, showed my first name because I paid for the flight with my credit card, and when I did the name for the passenger “auto-filled” my name (as Internet browsers do). So simple typo, agent’s fault. Called agent, waited 20 minutes, finally told “no, it is your fault, the first name is wrong and you owe us £67 if you want to change the name, or you will have to buy a new ticket for your wife.” So I called the airline, Flybe. After waiting 15 minutes, Flybe said the typo in our booking form still required a first name change that would cost an extra £67, even though it was an auto-fill problem on the booking form. The ticket showed my first name and Flybe said ” you need to pay us £67 for our own mistake in creating that typo and we are going to make you, the customer, angry and force you to pay us another £67 if you want your wife to fly on the ticket that you already paid for her.”

    Ed

    from United Kingdom - March 11, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Baggage Handling

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    Unbelievable. I’m a regular business traveler and know by now to check the baggage requirements for every flight every time. Did the same here, and was charged 50 pounds for a bag at size. Not oversized, at size. Livid. Nearly 20 other suffered the same fate — some of us politely accepting, a few getting upset and protesting. Disappointed and will never fly Flybe again. Telling all I know to avoid— the scam here is ruthless.

    Alessandro

    from United Kingdom - January 24, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    Bad company, who use to scam his customers. I flight for business over 200 time per year, in different regions and countries. I used Flybe, from September 2018 for flight from London to Amsterdam and back. I want to specify i had my hand luggage with standard cabin size 55x35x20, without possible to extend, and without any front/side pockets. In my last trip, from London to Amsterdam on 22 January 2019, i had not any problem, but some customers had been fined 50 pounds for oversize luggage (also if they had Flybe blue strip for certify luggage). When I back from Amsterdam on 23 January 2019, had same surprise. They want charge me 70 euros, for oversize luggage, when my luggage was same, and enter in their test container. I called local police, because they don’t permit me to enter on aircraft. I understand policy, but fine people because flight have not space in lockers is too much. Indeed in both my flight (26 person from London to Amsterdam and 25 from Amsterdam to London), all lockers was empty, and all customers had normal standard cabin size bag (what I saw with my eyes, but if fro Flybe, charge 50 pound is moral ok. As i explained, my luggage is size that they have in their website, but they don’t care. Also i discovered after that, company is in loss, near to bankrupt, and had been sold to Virgin Atlantic Group, and now they try to take easy money from customers. If need i have all pictures then i can proof that. I will never flight more with this company, i prefer pay a bit more with company as BA, then risk to pay over 100 pound in one roundtrip travel, for incompetent staff. Also they are very rude, and not accept to speak and resolve problems. Alessandro

    DIMITAR

    from - September 4, 2018

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    Edinburgh to Southampton. I didn’t know an airline could provide this bad a service in the UK in 2018. A month before the flight Flybe contact me to tell me that the flight time has been changed. 5 minutes earlier departure and over 2 hours delay on the return. Not the worst, but considering that the flights were very early in the morning and very late at night it makes getting transport from the airport much harder as public transport is much scarcer at those hours. All goes well on the first flight. The return from Southampton was an absolute disaster. We were supposed to take off at 10:15. I was informed of a few delays. Then at about 10:00 I was told the flight was cancelled. The ridiculous part was that I was told that by my girlfriend who was checking on the Flybe website. The info board at the airport indicated that the flight would still be taking off, but with a delay. It was another 10-15 minutes before the airport staff got the info. We then had to wait standing in the airport (we were moved to an area without seats or refreshments).I was then offered to fly on the next day to Glasgow and then to take a taxi to Edinburgh. I agreed to that and was told that I was just waiting for a hotel to be arranged and a taxi to take me there. I asked the Flybe staff for a glass of water (the airport had practically shut down by this time). Never received anything. Considering I had gone through security 4 hours earlier I didn’t have water with me as I hadn’t planned on spending the night at the airport. It took them 2 hours to arrange a hotel and taxi for 13 people. Arrived at the hotel some time past midnight. When we arrived, we were let in the reception area by the hotel staff. It then turned out that the staff at the reception had received absolutely no word from Flybe. One of the group had to sit with them and on the phone for over half an hour until the sorted it out. I got the key to my room half an hour past midnight. Someone mentioned that they were told the flight is cancelled at 5pm that day. The staff announced sometime between 10:05-10:20. It took them over 2 hours to arrange a hotel and taxis for a dozen people. In the morning I was surprised to find out that Flybe had actually paid for me to have breakfast at the hotel. I guess they obeyed the law. That is the only positive thing I can say really. I arrived at my destination with a 17 hour delay. I have filed a complaint with them. Over a week later and no response. On top of all that the flight wasn’t cheap at all, despite being a short distance and booked two months in advance

    View all Reviews

    SHARE