3.6/10

    From 119 passenger reviews

    Milad

    from Germany - May 25, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Check-in Process

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    I have booked my flight online on Alitalia as follows:
    – FRA-FCO AZ 407 9 Mai 2019
    – FCO-CAI AZ 894 9 Mai 2019
    After receiving my Baggage in CAI Airport i have found that the Baggage was is damaged. i have searched the Alitalia customer Agent to help me to report the problem. The Lady from the Airline was there and told me: they have changed the Procedures of Damage reporting and they don’t make a written report any more . She has taken a Photo for my Baggage and to report it to the system of the Airlines from her side and she has given me a copy of Baggage Assistance Document in Italian language, which include an Email to report the problem with Photos later from my side also. I have sent a complaint Email as she told me todo and i have got the disappointed response from Alitalia side, that they cannot refund me because i did not obtain a damaged property report from prior to leaving the airport premises
    I’m very sorry twice
    first because i have trusted Alitalia
    Second because i have trusted the customer Agent of Alitalia in CAI Airport

    Katy

    from United Kingdom - April 29, 2019

    Flew Premium Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Baggage Handling

    • Check-in Process

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    I have traveled with this airline. They damaged my luggage twice, which both times I immediately reported this on arrival. On arrival, at the alitalia desk, beware that the person who works there does not do his job properly like most of this airlines employees. He gave me a piece of paper, pretending to acknowledge the bag damage but does not make an official report. He then gave me a piece of paper and lied to me that I could make this report online at home. Upon following his instructions as he worked for alitalia, I believed him, I contacted customer services. They then declined my claim accusing me that I did not report it on arrival which I did. Their employee did not do their job properly but we as customers have to suffer for the damage of our luggage which they refuse to take ownership for.

    Daniela

    from Italy - February 2, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    Never again Alitalia! I booked a flight with Alitalia to go home for Christmas last year, and Alitalia cancelled it because one of the carriers went bankrupt. They never let me know about it, however, and I only discovered it a week before Christmas, as I was wondering why the flights did not show up on the online check-in.. after contacting Alitalia, they confirmed that the flight had been cancelled. I then had to buy new tickets that were very expensive because it was a week before Christmas, and cancel all the connecting trains/buses. Absolutely scandalous and unprofessional behaviour! After being in touch with Alitalia, they first promised to pay compensation according to EU Flight Compensation Regulation 261/2004, but later refused based on that one of the carriers was bankrupt – even though they were the ones to sell the flights (the flight number was also AZ, i.e. Alitalia)! I have now given the case to a company that will process the claim against them, but Alitalia has been refusing to pay compensation for one year! This is completely outrageous, especially as the flights were sold under Alitalia’s name, not the airline that went bankrupt, and Alitalia keeps repeating bankruptcy as a ground not to pay compensation. Alitalia is not bankrupt, so you should pay compensation for cancelled flights that you fail to tell your customers about. I will never ever book anything with Alitalia again and strongly discourage other people from doing so.

    Willem

    from Belgium - January 31, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    2/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    Took a flight from Rome to Santiago, Chili. The seats were horrible. The upper part of the backrest of the seat was just wood with some fabric cover. The headrest was broken. Normally you can slide it upwards, but it always sagged down so that it rested on your shoulder blades. Very uncomfortable. The onboard entertainment consisted of a grainy screen smaller than my smartphone. The small selection of films consisted mainly of Italian films. The entertainment system also fell out several times so the movie played back from the beginning and it was only possible to fast forward x2. the entertainment system of my fellow traveler has never even worked, despite several resets by the cabin crew. The food was not bad. The cabin crew was not unfriendly.

    Amanda

    from - September 29, 2018

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    If it was possible, Alitalia deserves negative stars. This was, by far, the worst experience I have ever had with an airline, domestic or international. Not only did the airline lose my luggage for my entire trip (and returning my bag and items damaged), but they also treated me with rudeness and disrespect on multiple accounts in person and on the phone. Their workers also clearly are not familiar with any of their policies because I was told multiple pieces false information regarding the lost luggage process. They ended up costing me hundreds of dollars, which they refused to reimburse even a small portion of that despite the fact I followed their instructions when they concluded my luggage was lost. I was willing to provide them with an opportunity to restore my faith in their services, but it is obvious that they do not care one bit about their customers. Not only am I never flying with Alitalia again, but I also would strongly advise choosing another airline. I hope that no traveler has to experience the stress and loss that Alitalia put me through. Stay as far away from this airline as you can!

    View all Reviews

    SHARE