4.2/10

    From 9 passenger reviews

    Hedan

    from China - February 5, 2019

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    I chose AirAstana to fly to Georgia. Yet when I tried to attain my boarding pass, I was told my Oman e-visa cannot be used as only visa, not e-visa, is acceptable. So the flight service officer took my passport and went through all my visa to see if any visa is acceptable as equivalent to enter Georgia. I have an Israel visa which is valid until 2025 for multiple entries. But this flight service officer is so unprofessional and did not tell me that one could work. I said I used all my visas as I did not know multiple entry Israel visa can still be acceptable to enter Georgia even though it was used once. And the service officer did not tell me that either. It is his job to know this knowledge and he did not. So I have to leave the airport. After I was on taxi on high way, I searched online and found out that multiple visa for Israel still can be used for Georgia entrance. So I exited high way and turn around and it is already passed 3:10. This particular service officer is so unprofessional and ruined my holiday. And his solution is to ask me to buy another ticket on my own!

    Kristina

    from - September 10, 2018

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE AND TERRIBLE SERVICE !!! Its overpriced flights, for a direct 6H flight from Hong Kong to Almaty i paid 1700USD! For this price during the flight we didnt have TV, worked only 1 toilet, can you imagine the toilet condition, it was disgusting! Food was terrible and stewardess completely ignored when i asked for water at list 5 times. It wasn’t the end, my nightmare starts on the flight back. I was flying back from Almaty to Hong Kong with stop at Beijing. I have Nomad Club and fly with AirAstatana more than 11 years, as I’m from Almaty Kazakhstan (KZ) but live in Hong Kong (HK) and no other airlines fly to KZ, means I dont have another choice if I need to see my family. When I was doing check-in at Almaty airport at AirAstana counter, as i have Nomad Club and its automatically set request window seat when i buy an online ticket, a representative from AirAstana said, they don’t know why it doesn’t work and they don’t have time to check what is the problem. They gave me only one boarding pass, however, did check in to my baggage directly to HK. AirAstana representative said i don’t need a Cina visa as only 2H transit and boarding pass they will give me at Beijing transit, as it was 5 AM flight transit counter WAS CLOSED! i couldn’t go through immigration as I don’t have Chinese visa… I almost missed my flight, luckily because i been crying for 2H at immigration desk, the lady at immigration helped me and wrote on a piece of paper my boarding pass, to let me go through immigration so i can go to different Terminal where was my flight to HK. That’s not the end, i arrived to HK my baggage was lost! I emailed and called to Airsatana the same date when I arrived in HK, they promised to find my baggage as soon as possible and study my case with their terrible service, its been one week since AirAstanas baggage department finally contacted me, ONE WEEK! Plus my suitcases arrived broken! And forgot to mention on my flight back, the same story no TV, food terrible, luckily toilet worked this time. I’m from Kazakhstan and I always recommended AirAstana to all my friend, colleagues and people which ask about the AirAstana.

    Guat Ling

    from Turkey - December 27, 2017

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    Recently,i joined a tour to Turkey on 1Dec till 10 Dec 2017. We transit at Almaty. When arrived Istanbul, one of our tour member and I didn’t get our baggage.We fi a report and was told by the person in charge at Celebi Ground Handling / Baggage Services that we will get our baggage back when we check in to hotel later. However, we only receive our baggage at the end of our tour which was on the 8th December although the baggage was found beforehand. I was upset with the inefficiency and irresponsible of Air Astana. This had brought a lot of inconveniences to me. I was forced to borrow a lot of needs from other tour member such as facial care products, international charger, lotion, lip balm, bio oil and so on. Besides that, I was also forced to repeat wearing my clothes again and again. This was such a mental torture to me. We were told that we might be able to claim but unsure the amount. The information given was very ambiguous and we dare not buy clothes and other necessities. Furthermore, my facial items cost me more than RM1000 in total. How should I buy when I wasn’t assured that I can claim? I only bought clothes at Kipa, a local shopping centre which was located at walking distance from our hotel on 6th December 2017, when I still didn’t receive my baggage. I was really puzzled and disappointed with the Air Astana and would like to request for compensation on this. I sent a few complaint to Air Astana but didnt receive reply from Air Astana for my last email dated 11 Dec 2017. If my complaint will not be published here, shall i complain thru social media or the press??

    Chris

    from Australia - October 13, 2017

    Flew Economy Class

    Overall Score

    8/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      Yes

    I flew this airline from Kuala Lumpur to Almaty and Tashkent, and can see why it regularly wins the Skytrax award for Best Airline in Central Asia and India. I was pleasantly surprised with the food and beverage, cabin interior (the 767 from KUL to ALA was refurbished to look like a 787) and in-flight entertainment. The only disappointments were a late departure in KUL and having to use a bus to board the ALA-TAS flight, despite there being only 3 international flights on the departures board.

    I

    from United States - May 17, 2017

    Flew Business

    Overall Score

    1/10

    • Overall Value for Money

    • Seat and Cabin Space

    • Customer Service

    • In Flight Entertainment

    • Meals and Beverages

    • Recommend Airline

      No

    Unprofessional they do not honor rules of other airlines that flew me in. I get 2 x 32 kg bags and they decided they want to take money and said u should have read our rules.
    They charged me 300$ for excess 22 kg’s! I would buy a full bag of 32 kg for 75$ from USA!!!

    And nit just that they said this money is only to Amsterdam and made my bags need checked out and back in again in Amsterdam ( jeopardizing my flight to USA).

    They say You Are in AirAstana only our rules apply!!!

    Will try my utmost to avoid this airline.

    View all Reviews

    SHARE