More than 65 per cent of airlines in South East Asia are not IOSA safety audited

October 17, 2013 has found that of the 41 main passenger airlines operating in South East Asia, only thirteen airlines have been IOSA (IATA Operational Safety Audit) certified.

Registering for IOSA certification and audit is not mandatory therefore an airline, which does not have IOSA certification may have either failed the audit or chosen not to participate.

Statistics show that airlines that have passed the IOSA audit have a 4.3 times better safety record than airlines that have not received their certification.

A good example relates to Garuda Indonesian which has not had a fatality or serious incident since it completed the IOSA audit in 2008.

Garuda Indonesia currently holds a 5/7 safety rating on

The airlines in South East Asia that have completed IOSA are:

  • Vietnam Airlines
  • Bangkok Air
  • Thai Airways
  • Thai Smile
  • Singapore Airlines
  • Silk Air
  • Orient Thai Airlines
  • Philippine Airlines
  • Malaysia Airlines
  • MASwings (subsidiary of Malaysian Airlines)
  • Garuda Indonesia
  • Royal Brunei
  • Myanmar International

Lao Airlines is one of the 28 South East Asian airlines that had not participated in IOSA.

The IATA certification audit is an internationally recognised and accepted evaluation system designed to assess the operational management and control systems of an airline.

IOSA uses internationally recognised audit principles and is designed to conduct audits in a standardised and consistent manner.

Airlines are re evaluated every two years.

And the importance of safety oversight and regulations within the aviation industry is as important as the safety of an airline itself.

According to editor Geoffrey Thomas, audits from aviation governing bodies and governments are pertinent for the industry to determine which airline has had the highest safety standards. seven star safety assessment criteria is based on a comprehensive analysis using information from associations such as IATA, European Union (EU) Blacklist, Federal Aviation Authority (FAA) and The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).

“We view safety holistically and objectively using only internationally recognised audits from the most respected bodies,” said Mr Thomas. is updated continuously to add new reviews, incorporate new information and re-rate airlines based on their demonstrated safety., the world’s first airline safety and product rating website has found that the numerous aircraft can boast a perfect safety record.

For detailed information on our safety rating criteria please click or for the individual safety breakdown for any airline click