Avianca Passenger Reviews | AirlineRatings.com
Rate your experience

Passenger Reviews

Avianca Passenger Reviews

Avianca

Average passenger rating : 5/10  Rating criteria

14 Jun 2017

Ana of United States

Cabin Flown: Economy

Ana’s overall rating : 1/10


Overall Value For Money

Seat and Cabin Space

Customer Service

Meals and Beverages

In Flight Entertainment

Recommend Airline?
No


Avianca, in my opinion as a frequent flyer, leaves plenty of room for improvement. I had a very frustrating experience just checking in. Everything was in disarray; people were lost, lines were unorganized and the delay was excruciating. The agents did nothing to ease the flow but rather ignored passengers with legitimate questions and at times completely ignored them. I will never book a flight with Avianca again.

22 May 2017

Lisa of United States

Cabin Flown: Economy

Lisa’s overall rating : 10/10


Overall Value For Money

Seat and Cabin Space

Customer Service

Meals and Beverages

In Flight Entertainment

Recommend Airline?
Yes


We were very happy with our experience flying with Avianca. They do not charge to check 1 bag. They fed us and offered recent movies, headphones and wine at no extra charge. Their seats have more legroom than other airlines. We were very impressed and felt treated better by Avianca than the American based airlines. A+ for Avianca!

15 May 2017

Casey of United States

Cabin Flown: Economy

Casey’s overall rating : 1/10


Overall Value For Money

Seat and Cabin Space

Customer Service

Meals and Beverages

In Flight Entertainment

Recommend Airline?
No


Waiting in the Lima airport for over 2 hours just to wait to check in showed the airlines inability to function in an organized function. After speaking to 2 different Avianca agents, we were told that we needed to continue to wait in line, despite our flight being "closed." I went to the agent a third time to ask, as our flight was taking off in 30 minutes, and she told me our flight was closed and they would move us to the next plane, which would cause us to
miss our connection.

After fighting. They were able to get our flight to "reopen" and get us on the flight. After running through the airport because of Avianca poor customer service, we got to our gate and barely made our flight.

After arriving in Columbia, Avianca called my name for "extra security measures." They removed me from my friend, searched me very extensively, including putting her hands down my pants, and never once able to explain to me in English what they were doing or why. They were rude and after 4 agents, no one was willing to speak to me In English, despite me requesting it over and over. Once I final

27 Apr 2017

Jimmy of Honduras

Cabin Flown: Business

Jimmy’s overall rating : 1/10


Overall Value For Money

Seat and Cabin Space

Customer Service

Meals and Beverages

In Flight Entertainment

Recommend Airline?
No


4/21/17 Flight 575 JFK to SAP was a horrible experience. How does Avianca use such a dirty, outdated, worn out jet? The merger with TACA should have removed this old early 1990's 320 Airbus. It was a terrible experience. Seats old leather, worn out panel arm rests with the paint peeling off. Old NON-HD monitors that hang over your seat. No personalized screens with choices of what to watch. An utterly horrific 4+ hour experience. Bring your laptop if you're not flying one of Avianca's more updated jets.

This jet was pathetic. For Avianca to charge premium prices for this relic is a disgrace. It should under a complete makeover or should be taken out of service. I don't need to fly on a plane which takes me back to 1993 amenities. And the toilet was rusted so badly it was frightening to look at. It was brown. Simply awful, Avianca.

01 Mar 2017

nadia of Nicaragua

Cabin Flown: Economy

nadia’s overall rating : 10/10


Overall Value For Money

Seat and Cabin Space

Customer Service

Meals and Beverages

In Flight Entertainment

Recommend Airline?
Yes


I was flying from LAX to Managua, and i lost my passport. my consulate gave me a temporary document, but not too oficial. the Airlines did the best for me in order i could took the flight. was the best service.
and all,my layover was very puntual.

21 Feb 2017

Tamara of United States

Cabin Flown: Economy

Tamara’s overall rating : 10/10


Overall Value For Money

Seat and Cabin Space

Customer Service

Meals and Beverages

In Flight Entertainment

Recommend Airline?
Yes


Avianca Airlines were wonderful to travel on. Staff was professional kind and well-dressed. Planes were on time connections were great. Food service was wonderful and efficient and movies and services worked well. Unlike many of the American Airlines I've been flying lately

19 Feb 2017

Phillip of Australia

Cabin Flown: Economy

Phillip’s overall rating : 8/10


Overall Value For Money

Seat and Cabin Space

Customer Service

Meals and Beverages

In Flight Entertainment

Recommend Airline?
Yes


Bogota-Cusco (Peru) return- A319. Good legroom and reasonable seat comfort though headrests are too short for tall passengers and seats are vinyl. No seatback entertainment. Food and service was reasonable otherwise.

19 Feb 2017

Phillip of Australia

Cabin Flown: Economy

Phillip’s overall rating : 8/10


Overall Value For Money

Seat and Cabin Space

Customer Service

Meals and Beverages

In Flight Entertainment

Recommend Airline?
Yes


Bogota-Bucaramanga (A319). Short-haul domestic flight. Good legroom but headrests too short. Service OK and no seatback entertainment. Boarding at the Puente Aereo terminal was confusing with the gate staff not communicating which aircraft to board (there is a common walkway to all the boarding areas past the initial gate).

19 Feb 2017

Phillip of Australia

Cabin Flown: Economy

Phillip’s overall rating : 8/10


Overall Value For Money

Seat and Cabin Space

Customer Service

Meals and Beverages

In Flight Entertainment

Recommend Airline?
Yes


Madrid-Bogota return (connecting to Etihad)- 787. Good seat comfort and entertainment. Food and service reasonable. Significantly improved check-in experience at Bogota compared to a few years ago.

11 Jan 2017

Vivek of United States

Cabin Flown: Economy

Vivek’s overall rating : 10/10


Overall Value For Money

Seat and Cabin Space

Customer Service

Meals and Beverages

In Flight Entertainment

Recommend Airline?
Yes


A company's character is defined by how it runs its business when its customers need it the most.

My review is based on one such experience wherein I got injured while on vacation in Machu Pichhu. Except for Avianca, all other companies I had to deal with due to the injury were a flat disappointment. Here's what I loved about Avianca.

- The patience with which customer service talks to you, even in repeat calls, different questions, long conversations, etc. Also, in about 15 calls only one I had to wait in queue for 2 minutes, a welcome change after dealing with customer service centers in USA where 20 minutes of wait times are a norm.
- The consideration they gave to me and my wife after knowing that I am injured and need to go back to hometown to get treatment due to my medical history is commendable. They booked us on next morning flights, with somebody helping us through every step at the airport.
- They gave us VIP lounge free for our long layover in El Savador.

It was surreal to see how much they cared. I would love to fly Avianca in future with the confidence that if things go sideways, there is somebody who cares.